Top Honours For Jim MacLean ESM

Top Honours For Jim MacLean ESM

The 2016 Queen’s Birthday Honours List has been like Christmas coming early for one Northshore volunteer, although is not presents up for grabs. Its serious recognition and of course, entitlement to the post-nominal ESM.

On Monday 13 June 2016,  the Governor General, Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) released this years Honours List which identified approximately 560 of Australia’s best, including the WA recipients of the prestigious Emergency Services Medal (ESM).


Local Manager Northshore SES Nick Elliott said “The ESM recognises distinguished service by members of an Australian emergency service. Only a limited number of medals are awarded each year, and we are absolutely thrilled and immensely proud that our very own Jim MacLean has been selected as one of the 2016 recipients.”

Mr James MacLean ESM

Jim has been recognised for his service to the community through the Northshore State Emergency Service (SES). He has held a number of positions within the unit including Deputy Local Manager, Local Manager and more recently Training Officer. Jim has managed many significant projects, including the relocation of the unit from Northbridge to Mt Hawthorn and the merging of Perth and Subiaco units to form the Northshore SES, which now covers nine local government areas.

Nick added “Jim has played a significant part in all aspects of SES volunteering in WA over the past 33 years, playing an active role in numerous deployments both intrastate and interstate. Jim is held in the highest regard by all his colleagues at the Northshore Unit as well as within DFES ranks.”


Background Information:

The Emergency Services Medal (ESM) is awarded for distinguished service by a member of an Australian emergency service, and people who are involved in emergency management, training or education. The medal was introduced in 1999, and recipients are entitled to use the post-nominal letters “ESM”.

Awards are made by the Governor-General, on the nomination of the responsible minister in each state or territory, and at the federal level. The total number of awards made each year must not exceed the following quota:

  • One medal for every 1000 full-time members, or part of 1000, full-time members of the emergency service (or combined emergency services) of each state.
  • One medal for every 5000, or part of 5000 part-time, volunteer or auxiliary members of the emergency service (or combined emergency services).