The State Emergency Service is a division of the Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES) made up of volunteers from every walk of life who give up their time to help others during emergency situations or when disaster strikes.

008DFES performs a critical role coordinating emergency services for a range of natural disasters and emergency incidents threatening life and property. Supported by an extensive network of over 32,000 volunteers and  over 1000 career firefighters DFES works together with the community and government to prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from a diverse range of emergencies.

The Northshore SES unit covers the Perth CBD as well as the following council municipalities: Nedlands, Claremont, Cottesloe, Peppermint Grove, Mosman Park, Subiaco, Cambridge and Vincent. We train our volunteers to be able to deal with whatever emergency situation may confront them, as well as many other support & miscellaneous roles.

There is no such thing as a ‘typical’ callout. However, the more common types of incidents for our unit include searching for missing persons, storm damage, fallen trees, collapsed ceilings, flooding and buildings damaged by vehicle impacts. Statewide, the SES takes the lead role in countering the effects of, and managing, the reactions to floods, cyclones, storms, earthquakes and tsunami threats.

The below stats relate to the Northshore SES unit only:


Number of individual callouts in 2022


Total member callout hours in 2022


Number of individual callouts in 2023 to date


Total member callout hours in 2023 to date